Product Review | Tarte Rainforest of the Sea

IMG_4128

I am happy to be back, writing about the things I love and presenting my new discoveries to you all. I took a 3 month break to focus on school, graduation, moving into a new apartment and preparing for the busy summer season at my job. Things are finally starting to simmer down and settle into a routine, which means I can finally get back to my hobbies again (yippie!).

But enough about me – this post is all about the new foundation I have been using and my thoughts on the product. I made the recent switch to the Tarte Rainforest of the Sea foundation after watching iluvsarahii’s foundation tutorial. The coverage looked FLAWLESS on her, so I took to the internet to do some intensive research on this foundation before buying it.

According to tartecosmetics.com, the Rainforest of the Sea foundation line is a water based foundation. Its lightweight, full coverage formula claims to be very hydrating and contains a non-chemical SPF 15 sunscreen. On paper, this sounds like the ideal foundation for me. A full coverage foundation for dry skin, with a built in SPF, perfect for summer. At $39USD I felt like it was worth a shot.

IMG_4122

My first application was with a damp beauty sponge (later used a flat top blending brush and I feel like the sponge is my best bet) and I can honestly say I was impressed with the amount of coverage I was able to get from a water based foundation. It dried to a semi matte finish and lasted throughout the day (a particularly hot and humid day eating lunch by the river). Day one was love at first sight but I’m not going to lie every other day of using this foundation tells a different story.

IMG_4089

A picture from day 1.

This is what I’ve noticed about this foundation since day 1.

  • It settles into fine lines even when you bake them and set them with powder
  • It tends to separate throughout the day on oily parts of your face and cling to dry patches
  • It kind of looks chalky when you wear it for a long period of time
  • All in all – I am not really a fan…

I plan on returning this foundation and exchanging it for something else which sucks because the coverage is beautiful and it does photograph well but I’ve had better luck with other foundations in the past when it comes to wear and longevity.

If you have tried this foundation let me know in the comments section how you feel about it because honestly, I am not convinced its worth it.

xoxo

4 thoughts on “Product Review | Tarte Rainforest of the Sea

Leave a Reply

